Spain to reopen its borders with EU countries on June 21

Photo by Angel García

PM Pedro Sánchez has announced Spain will reopen its international borders for EU citizens within the Schengen zone on June 21, over a week ahead of the previous date given (July 1). This will mean tourists, thus flights, will be able to enter Spain within eight days. Regarding citizens from other countries (including the UK), the reopening of borders will depend on bilateral agreements with ‘countries with a similar or lower Covid-19 impact’ according to Sr Sanchez.
Exceptionally, due to a bilateral agreement, the borders with Portugal will remain closed (with the exception of three crossing points in Galicia) until July 1.

Read more in this week’s print edition or go to e-paper


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.